Dallas Out-of-State Drivers Lawyer
Did another driver who lives in another state cause your accident in Dallas? Out of state drivers can complicate matters, but you still have legal options. Our Dallas out-of-state drivers lawyers can help you pursue the compensation you deserve.
Our Dallas car accident lawyers can match you with the best attorney for your legal needs. We do not charge you unless we win for you, and the consultation is always FREE. To learn more during your FREE consultation, call us at (469) 998-4069 or contact us online today.
How Insurance Claims Work for Out-of-State Drivers?
Accidents with out-of-state drivers can be more complicated if state insurance minimums are different. However, out-of-state driver accidents are not rare, and an experienced lawyer can help you handle the legal side of things.
Texas sees many visitors from other states throughout the year, so the potential for accidents is always there. Even if the driver who caused your accident does not live in Texas, liability is the same. An accident that happens in Texas falls under the state’s personal injury laws:
- The at-fault driver in a car accident is legally liable for the resulting damages.
- As the injury victim in a car accident, you can file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company for compensation.
- You can seek compensation as long as you are not more than 50% at fault for the accident.
- If you were partially at fault for the accident (but not more than 50% responsible), your compensation will be reduced based on your percentage of fault.
Insurance Minimums in Texas
Although each state has different laws on how much insurance drivers are required to carry, Texas’s requirements matter when an accident happens inside state boundaries.
According to the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI), drivers in Texas must carry liability auto insurance for at least:
- $30,000 for injuries per person
- $60,000 total for injuries per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
The TDI recommends higher liability coverage, but these are the minimum legal requirements. If the at-fault driver’s state has lower insurance limits, Texas’s minimums override them. In other words, the out-of-state driver’s insurance company must comply with Texas’s higher limits.
Fault vs No-Fault States
Texas is a “fault” state, meaning the at-fault driver (and their insurance company) is responsible for the damages. Some states are “no-fault” states, which means each driver’s insurance company pays for damages regardless of who caused the accident.
If an accident happens in Texas, its legalities fall under state laws. Even if the out-of-state driver is from a no-fault state, they must comply with how Texas insurance claims work. All claims and lawsuits related to the accident must take place in Texas, as well.
To make sure you understand your rights and how to handle the claim process, contact a Dallas out-of-state driver’s lawyer as soon as possible. An experienced lawyer will know what to do to fight for your rights and ensure the other driver’s insurance company cooperates.
Out-of-State DUI Accidents in Texas
Driving under the influence (DUI) is too familiar across all U.S. states. If an out-of-state driver causes an accident while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, they are legally responsible. You can still file a claim against the driver to seek compensation for your damages.
DUI accident cases are often complicated, so you’ll want to speak with a lawyer right away. Your lawyer can help you gather evidence to show what happened and how the other driver was negligent, even if they have since returned to their state.
How to Prove the Out-of-State Driver Caused Your Accident?
Some Dallas lawyers don’t want to take on cases that involve out-of-state drivers — but not us. Our Dallas car accident law firm is happy to help you after an accident with a driver from another state. We will work to pursue the fullest compensation possible for your damages.
To prove that the other driver caused your accident, you’ll need to show that:
- The out-of-state driver owed you a duty of care
- The driver breached their duty of care
- The driver’s breached duty directly caused your accident
- You suffered damages because of the accident
All drivers have a responsibility to drive safely on Dallas roads and not harm others. If a driver acts (or fails to act) in a way that puts your safety at risk, it’s known as negligence. In Texas, a negligent party who causes an accident is legally liable for the damages.
You will need to gather information from the accident scene, maintain thorough documentation of your damages, talk to any eyewitnesses to get statements, and much more to show what happened during the accident. Your lawyer can help you with all of these actions and anything else that enables you to seek the compensation you deserve.
Damages You Can Claim in an Out-of-State Driver Accident
Texas law determines the damages you can claim from the accident. All states have different rules on how damages are awarded and capped. In Texas, the two main damages you can claim are:
- Economic damages
- Non-economic damages
Economic damages refer to medical costs, lost wages, and vehicle repair or replacement costs. Texas restricts economic losses to the exact amount you paid for them (Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code Section 41.0105), so you need to keep documentation for all of these damages.
Non-economic damages include mental or emotional pain or anguish, physical pain and suffering, physical impairment, disfigurement, and loss of enjoyment of life. Non-economic damages account for losses that do not have a set dollar amount. There is no cap for these damages in Texas.
Insurance companies will look for any way to reduce what they have to pay on an injury claim — and an out-of-state driver’s insurer is no exception. The other driver’s insurance company might fight even harder to avoid paying for your claim. Thankfully, a Dallas lawyer can step in and fight for what you deserve.
Get a Free Consultation with a Dallas Out-of State-Drivers Lawyer Today
Our Dallas car accident lawyers work tirelessly to get each client the compensation they need and deserve to cover their costs. We do not charge a fee unless we win your case, and the consultation is always FREE.
Contact us today, and we’ll answer any questions you have and go over your best legal options. Call (469) 998-4069 or contact us online to get started with your FREE consultation today.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Will My Motorcycle Accident Lawyer Deal with the Insurance Companies for Me?
- How Much Will It Cost to Hire a Truck Accident Lawyer?
- How Long Does a Motorcycle Accident Claim Take to Settle?
- How Much Can You Receive For Pain And Suffering From An Auto Accident in Texas?
- If a Drunk Driver Hits Me Can I Sue the Bar in Dallas?