Dallas Red Light Lawyer
Have you received a red-light ticket recently in Dallas, Texas? Perhaps you didn’t notice that the light had changed until you had just passed under it… but the officer who pulled you over did.
A red-light ticket is considered a civil offense, which means you don’t need to appear in court to fight it. Instead, you can hire a lawyer to go into court for you to defend your case and perhaps reduce or even eliminate the potential penalties of a fine and points on your license.
If you need a Dallas red light lawyer to help you with your case, give our team a call today at (469) 998-4069. We will fight to reduce any fines you have to pay and work toward ensuring that you have few or no points added to your license.
Red Light Laws in Texas
Knowing the laws regarding red lights in Texas can save you from getting a red-light ticket – and the headaches that go along with it. Here are the basics insofar as what you need to know regarding red light rules in the state of Texas.
Left on Red
Some states do not allow you to make a left at a red light. Texas is not one of those states. In the state of Texas, you can turn left at an intersection bearing a red light provided you come to a complete stop upon entering a crosswalk, reaching a stop line, or entering the intersection. If you do not come to a complete stop before you turn from a one-way street onto another one-way street, you can receive a red-light ticket.
Right on Red
Unless there is a sign posted that says otherwise, Texas drivers are allowed to turn right on red, provided they come to a complete stop first. If you do not come to a complete stop, and/or if you do not comply with the right-of-way laws while making your turn, you may be ticketed.
In the state of Texas, a solid yellow light serves as a warning that the light is about to turn red. You are allowed, by law, to enter the intersection if the signal is still yellow, but if it turns red before you reach the intersection and you go through the intersection anyway, you could receive a ticket.
Penalties Associated with Red Light Violations
Fines for a red-light ticket vary, depending on where you receive it. However, on average a red-light ticket fine runs from $150 to $275.
If you are convicted of violating a red-light law, you can also incur two points on your driving record. Accumulate too many points, and you may have to pay an even higher fine associated with the increased number of points on your license. Typically, you can deduct these two points easily by completing a defensive driving course, but there’s only so many points one of these courses will remove.
Your insurance premiums may go up after you get a ticket because the insurance company now considers you a riskier driver – especially if your actions led to an accident. Plus, if you’re convicted, the charge will stand on your driving record for the next three years, which means the penalties will be worse if you somehow find yourself charged with another moving violation – even if it’s by accident.
Most red-light tickets are minor, but in some instances, you could also be convicted of reckless driving. If you cause a fatality after running a red light, you may be charged with vehicular homicide or manslaughter. If this is the situation you are in, you should definitely not face the court alone. A Dallas car accident lawyer can help you fight for your freedom and reduce the penalties incurred.
Handling Red Light Tickets in The State Of Texas
A typical red-light ticket is a minor inconvenience, but an inconvenience, nonetheless. While you could go to court and fight the ticket yourself, you may prefer to hire a lawyer to do so. Someone who knows Texas driving laws inside and out can be supremely beneficial to your case.
If you face a more serious charge than an average moving violation, like vehicular homicide or even just a red-light conviction involving an accident, you definitely should not handle your case by yourself.
When you hire a Dallas car accident lawyer to help you with your case, you can have the peace of mind that comes from having someone on your side who is fighting just as hard for your case as you are. Why miss work and a day of pay to fight a minor ticket when you can hire someone to do it for you? Give us a call today at (469) 998-4069 to get started.
Frequently Asked Questions
- How Long Do You Have to Report a Car Accident to Your Insurance in Texas?
- What Is the Law For Booster Seats in Texas and Does It Affect Accident Cases?
- Can I Sue Public Transportation if I Am Involved in a Bus Accident?
- Who Can Be Sued in a Motorcycle Accident Case?
- Who Is Responsible For Your Medical Bills After A Car Accident In Texas?