Dallas Uninsured Motorist Lawyer
If you have been involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist in Dallas, Texas, or even if you were the uninsured or underinsured party, you still have legal options available to you. This is true even if the person who hit you fled the scene, and you weren’t able to gather any information about him or her.
Give a Dallas car accident lawyer a call at (214) 305-8277, and we will advise you on how best to proceed to give you the best shot at a victory in your case.
Driving Without Insurance in Texas
If you are pulled over for driving without insurance for the first time in Dallas, Texas, the law enforcement officer can issue you a ticket of between $175 and $350. You will also receive an annual $250 surcharge on your license for the next three years. That’s right – all that for a first offense.
If this isn’t your first rodeo and you get caught driving without insurance a second time in Texas, you can receive a fine of between $350 and $1,000, plus that annual, $250 three-year surcharge. You also risk having your license revoked and your vehicle impounded.
If you cause an accident while uninsured, you may be held 100% liable for any physical injuries and property damage you cause. The state of Texas does not mess around when it comes to uninsured drivers.
Compensation for Accidents Involving Uninsured Drivers
Most of us do not thoroughly read our auto insurance policies. We sign up for them because we have to, and we opt for the package we can afford and call it at that. The good news, though, is that most insurance policies include coverage for accidents involving uninsured – or underinsured – drivers.
This means that if you are injured or suffer property damage in an accident with a driver who has little to no insurance coverage, you may still have legal options available to you to help you pursue compensation for medical costs, damages, and even lost wages if you had to miss work as a result of the accident.
Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Coverage
In the state of Texas, auto insurance carriers are required to offer you some form of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage is meant to cover the damages and losses you suffer as the result of a crash with an uninsured or underinsured driver.
However, you must be able to prove the other driver was at fault in order to recover the money. This is where a Dallas car accident lawyer who is well versed in the relevant case law can become an invaluable asset to your case.
Typically, the coverage amounts provided by an insurance carrier in the state of Texas for the victim of a crash involving an uninsured or underinsured motorist include:
- A $30,000 payout for injuries suffered by one person
- A $60,000 payout for injuries suffered by two or more people
- A $25,000 payout to cover property damage
Importantly, your policy may not cover both property damages and bodily injury, so you’ll have to double-check your policy to see what exactly you opted for when you signed up. However, unless you rejected this kind of coverage in writing when you signed up for the coverage, then you should have it by default, so you should be entitled to some form of payout. The trick then becomes proving the at-fault party – something a car accident lawyer can help you with.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection, or PIP, is like uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in that you should be entitled to it automatically, provided you didn’t waive it at any point in writing. PIP covers your medical expenses as well as 80% of lost wages, and you should receive it regardless of whether you or the other driver was at fault.
At a minimum, you should receive a payout of at least $2,500 with PIP coverage. However, if your insurance company refuses to pay out for any reason, you may need to hire a Dallas car accident lawyer to strongarm them into giving you what you rightfully deserve.
Why You Need a Car Accident Lawyer in The State of Texas
If you get into a car accident in Dallas, Texas, regardless of the circumstances, one of the first things you should do, after taking the other driver’s contact info and photos/videos of the scene, is to reach out to a car accident lawyer. The sooner you contact a lawyer, the sooner you can protect your rights and temporarily stop the clock from running on your claim.
Insurance carriers in these situations, no matter whether you are the at-fault driver or not, will look to place blame on you to avoid paying out for damages. Your lawyer can speak to the insurance company on your behalf and delay the matter until a proper determination can be made.
When a Dallas car accident lawyer takes over your case, he or she can step in for you and put in the work necessary to potentially secure a more favorable outcome in your case. Give us a call today at (214) 305-8277 and take back control of your case!
Frequently Asked Questions
- Can You Recover Money For Lost Income In Texas If Unable To Work After a Car Accident?
- How Do I Prove It Was The Other Driver’s Fault For The Car Accident In Dallas?
- Can I Get Workers’ Compensation if I Was in a Car Accident While Working In Dallas?
- Are Distracted Driving Accidents In Texas Increasing With Cell Phone Usage?
- What Is a Whiplash Accident?