Irving Out of State Drivers Accident Lawyer
Texas is a popular travel destination. People visit Texas from all over the United States. If you live in the city of Irving, you may meet travelers on their way to Dallas or Fort Worth. Many visitors travel by car.
Although it’s fun to meet people from other places, it’s not so great if you’re in a car accident. Accidents caused by out of state drivers can be a legal hassle.
In addition to the damages and injuries associated with the crash, you may face problems with the out of state driver’s insurance company. Getting compensation for an accident with an out of state driver may also take longer.
The good news is that out of state drivers are always subject to Texas laws. If your accident turns into a lawsuit, it will be tried in a Texas court. That’s why you should always seek out a local accident lawyer.
If you get into a car crash with a driver from another state, give us a call. Our Irving legal team will give you the home-state advantage. Call (469) 998-4069 or use our website to schedule a free consultation.
What Causes Out of State Driver Accidents?
In general, out of state drivers aren’t that different from Texas drivers. They will get into car accidents for the same reasons as anyone else:
- Illegal lane changes
- Distracted driving, such as texting and driving
- Bad road conditions
- Poor visibility due to bad weather
- Fatigued driving
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Mechanical problems, such as engine failure
However, sometimes they cause accidents because they’re not used to Texas traffic laws.
For example, it’s legal to turn left on a red light in some states — this is not legal in Texas. An out of state driver may not know how Texas traffic laws differ, and he or she could cause an accident out of ignorance. Luckily for you, ignorance is not an excuse. The out of state driver would be held liable in this scenario.
Texas also has a unique right-of-way law. If there’s a center lane on a three-lane street, the driver moving from the left has the right of way. Drivers moving from right to left must always yield. This causes many failure-to-yield crashes with out of state drivers.
Texas Auto Insurance Laws
Many states also have different insurance requirements for drivers. If you’re in an accident involving an out of state driver, be prepared for insurance issues. The other driver may not have enough liability coverage.
In Texas, drivers must carry at least $30,000 per person in personal injury accident liability. Out of state drivers might not have the same insurance policy. For example, Louisiana drivers are only required to carry $15,000 per person for liability coverage.
Accident injuries can be very expensive. After a car crash, you may need surgery, physical therapy, or long term care. Your injuries could include:
- Head and neck injuries
- Traumatic brain injury
- Back injuries and spinal cord injuries
- Cuts, burns, and bruises
- Broken bones
- Internal bleeding and organ damage
- Mental health issues like PTSD
If the other driver’s insurance policy doesn’t provide enough coverage, they’ll try to leave you holding the bills. That’s one reason why it’s so important to have an accident lawyer.
An accident lawyer will also help determine liability. Collisions involving out of state drivers are already complicated. You shouldn’t have to struggle to prove who’s at fault.
What to Do if an Out of State Driver Flees or Disappears
It’s illegal for drivers to flee the scene of an accident in Texas. If you’re struck by an out of state driver who doesn’t stop, it’s a hit and run. That’s a serious crime. Most out of state drivers won’t want to risk arrest.
As with any accident, collect the driver’s name, phone number, and insurance information. Take photos and videos of their car. Make sure that their license plate is clearly visible.
However, an out of state driver may try to disappear later on. You may get home and realize they have given you false information. In other cases, the out of state driver may refuse to return phone calls. They may hope that you won’t chase them down after they leave Texas.
While it’s harder to find a negligent driver out of state, it’s definitely not impossible. In fact, accident lawyers are prepared for this. We know the law is on your side, and we’ll fight to bring you justice.
Texas law has a special statute for out of state drivers who refuse a legal summons. This statute enables your lawyer to file a “default” judgment in state court — an official document stating that the other driver has not responded to prior legal action.
Once filed, there is a waiting period. The out of state driver has one last chance to respond to their summons. If they don’t, the default judgment is automatically granted to you. This means you win the settlement you have requested.
Afterward, your lawyers file the default judgment again in the driver’s home state. This forces the state’s court to legally enforce it.
Find an Out of State Driver Accident Lawyer
All car accidents can feel overwhelming. You may experience property damage as well as injuries. In the worst accidents, you may also be dealing with the loss of a loved one. A complicated insurance situation is the last thing you need.
That’s why our Irving lawyers are dedicated to helping all Texas drivers. If you’ve been in an accident with a driver from another state, give us a call. We’ll work with the other driver’s insurance, so you don’t have to. We will also fight for your rights.
You may be entitled to compensation from an accident with an out of state driver. With the help of our lawyers, you’ll receive what you’re owed. Schedule a free consultation now to discuss your case by calling (469) 998-4069.
Remember, consultations are always 100% free. If our accident lawyers don’t win your case, you won’t pay a dime.