McKinney Aggressive Driving Accident Lawyer
Too many drivers in McKinney drive in an aggressive manner on the roads. Aggressive driving is dangerous and can easily lead to serious accidents. If you were injured in this kind of accident, a McKinney aggressive driving accident lawyer can help.
Our car accident lawyers provide legal counsel and services to accident victims all throughout the Dallas area. We are ready to help you build a strong case and seek the compensation you deserve. To get a FREE consultation and get matched with the best attorney for your situation, call us today at (469) 998-4069.
Common Examples of Aggressive Driving in McKinney
According to the Texas Department of Transportation (DOT), aggressive driving can include:
- Passing on the wrong side of the road
- Blocking another vehicle and
- Cutting off another vehicle
Aggressive driving can also take the form of flashing lights at another driver, honking the vehicle’s horn aggressively, and more. Aggressive driving can also quickly turn into road rage.
Aggressive Driving Versus Road Rage
While aggressive driving is a traffic violation, road rage is a criminal offense. It’s considered assault with a motor vehicle on another driver or passenger(s). Road rage always results from something that happened on the road, such as one driver cutting off another.
Penalties for Driving Aggressively in McKinney
An aggressive driving violation can mean a fine of up to $200 for each violation in Texas. Jail time is also possible. In addition, the offending driver can typically expect their auto insurance company to raise their rates, especially if several violations have occurred.
Here are the different punishments a driver may face based on different aggressive driving actions:
- Class C misdemeanor with a fine of up to $200 for the following offenses:
- Following Too Closely
- Illegal Passing On the Right
- Failing to Control Speed
- Unsafe Speed
- Disregarding a “No Passing” Zone
- Cutting Across a Driveway to Make a Turn
- Failing to Yield at Stop Intersection
- Failure to Give Way When Overtaken
- Increased Speed While Being Overtaken
- Failure to Stop Emerging from Alley, Driveway, or Building
- Failure to Stop for Approaching Train in Hazardous Proximity
- Class B misdemeanor with a fine of up to $200, 30 days in county jail, or both: Reckless Driving
- Class A misdemeanor with a fine of up to $4,000, jail for up to a year, or both (and, in some cases, a third-degree felony with two to ten years in prison and up to $10,000 fine: Assault with Motor Vehicle
- Second-degree felony with up to 20 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000 (and, in some cases, a first-degree felony with up to 99 years in prison and up to $10,000 fine): Aggravated Assault with Motor Vehicle
- State jail felony with up to two years in jail and a $10,000 fine (and punished as a third-degree felony in some cases): Criminally Negligent Homicide with a Motor Vehicle
If someone causes injuries or deaths from an accident caused by their aggressive driving, the consequences can be even more severe. If you were injured in a crash that an aggressive driver caused, you should not have to bear the costs. Speak with an aggressive driving accident lawyer in the McKinney area who can help.
How to Handle an Aggressive Driving Accident
Thankfully, there are some things you can immediately to help build your case after an aggressive driving accident. The actions you take can gather evidence that your lawyer can use when they start working on your claim.
When you first encounter an aggressive driver, it’s important to not make things worse. They are already going to be in a volatile headspace that can lead to poor decisions. It’s best to:
- Move out of the way and give the driver room (so that more damage doesn’t occur)
- Avoid eye contact if they are acting aggressively towards you
- Not make any inappropriate gestures towards the driver
Call the Police
If you feel unsafe, call 911 right away. If the accident has happened and you’ve both pulled over, stay in your car if you are worried the driver will be violent or aggressive with you. Police will arrive at the scene to assist.
After an accident with injuries in McKinney, you should call the police anyway to report the accident. Tell the dispatcher what happened and anything that officers will need to know is happening at the scene.
Also, keep in mind that the number one priority is your well-being. If you have serious or life-threatening injuries, let the dispatcher know so they can send an ambulance.
If you are able to do so safely, getting pictures of the accident scene, your injuries, and your vehicle damage can be really helpful to your case. If the driver is clearly acting aggressive or weird in some other way, you might try taking a video of their behavior—but only if it does not put you in harm’s way.
Aggressive drivers are often unpredictable. If you can, get pictures of their vehicle, license plate, and anything else that helps identify them. This can help in case the driver decides to commit a hit and run.
Your lawyer will use anything you gather at the scene to help build your case and provide evidence to show what happened.
Keep Track of Your Damages
If you didn’t receive medical attention at the scene, you should see a doctor as soon as possible after leaving the scene. Then, save all doctor’s notes, bills, receipts, and other evidence of your medical costs. The same goes for other damages you face from the accident.
You will need to provide evidence of your damages in your claim, so anything you can save will be helpful. Your lawyer can also help you compile the right information to build your case, which is why it’s best to contact a lawyer right away, too.
Talk to a McKinney Aggressive Driving Accident Lawyer for Free Today
Our car accident lawyers have the experience and dedication to support you after an accident with an aggressive driver. We do not charge a fee unless we win you money, so there is no risk to get started with us. Contact us today and we can discuss the details and answer any questions during a FREE consultation.
Call (469) 998-4069 to get started with your FREE consultation today. We look forward to speaking with you and discussing how we can help.
Frequently Asked Questions
- If a Truck Driver or Delivery Driver Hits Me Can I Sue the Company in Dallas?
- What Happens If You Get Injured In a Car Accident With a Lyft or Uber Driver?
- Can You Be Found Liable Even If Your Car Was Rear-Ended In A Crash?
- Do You Have a Case Even If There Was No Damage To Your Car In An Accident In Texas?
- Can You Go to Jail for Texting and Driving in Texas?