Can I Sue Uber for an Accident?
If an Uber driver caused your accident, you have legal options. However, ridesharing accidents are a little different than other types of car accidents, and your options might be limited. Below, we’ll cover what you can do to seek compensation after an Uber accident.
To get one-on-one support after an Uber accident, contact us, and we’ll match you with the best ridesharing accident lawyer for your needs. The consultation is FREE, and there is no charge unless your lawyer wins you money. Call (214) 305-8277 or contact us online to learn more and get started for FREE today.
Is It Possible to Sue Uber After an Accident with One of Their Drivers?
You probably won’t be able to sue Uber directly as a company. Uber drivers are independent contractors rather than employees, which allows the company to evade liability in many accidents. You still have rights, though, and those rights will vary slightly depending on the state where you live.
Filing an Uber Accident Claim
You can seek compensation through a personal injury claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company or Uber’s insurance company. Uber’s insurance coverage does protect drivers after an accident in certain situations:
- If the Uber driver is “off the clock” and not currently accepting rides when they cause the accident, the driver’s own insurance coverage will apply.
- If the driver is taking rides but not presently working on a ride when they cause an accident, Uber provides liability coverage only if the driver’s insurance doesn’t apply.
- If the Uber driver is currently transporting a passenger or driving to pick up a passenger when they cause the accident, Uber’s insurance coverage (which includes $1 million in liability, uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury, and contingent comprehensive and collision coverage) should fully apply.
Uber drivers must carry the minimum auto insurance coverage for their state. In Texas, the minimums required by the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) are 30/60/25:
- $30,000 for injuries per person
- $60,000 total per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Depending on the details of your accident, you might be able to file a claim with the Uber driver’s insurance company, Uber’s insurance company, or both. A ridesharing accident lawyer can help you determine the options available to you.
In most situations, a lawyer can help fight for a settlement amount that is fair to you. If you and the insurer can agree on a fair settlement, you won’t need to consider a lawsuit. However, if you’re not able to get a fair offer from the Uber driver’s insurance company, suing the driver directly might be an option.
In all cases, you’ll want to speak with an experienced ridesharing accident attorney before engaging in any conversation with the other insurance companies. A lawyer can protect your rights, so you enter your case knowing what you deserve and how to fight for it.
When You Might Be Able to Sue Uber
Although suing Uber as a company is rarely an option after an accident, there are exceptions. If Uber did something careless or incredibly negligent that led to the accident, you might have a case to sue them. For example, Uber might be liable if they hired a driver who harmed a passenger, and Uber should have known about the driver’s past before hiring them.
Talk to a ridesharing accident lawyer about the specifics if you think you might have a claim against Uber.
What to Do if You Were Injured as an Uber Passenger
If the Uber driver caused an accident while you were a passenger in their vehicle, the $1 million liability policy should apply to your case. However, you’ll need to perform specific actions to build your case and seek the compensation you deserve.
You must preserve as much evidence as possible after the accident. You can do that by:
- Calling 911 to report the accident to the police
- Taking pictures of your injuries and the entire accident scene
- Writing down the names and contact information of any eyewitnesses
- Screenshotting all of your Uber ride details on your phone app
- Making sure you know the Uber driver’s name, contact information, and license plate number
- Getting treatment for your injuries as soon as possible
You’ll also want to contact a ridesharing accident lawyer right away, especially if you have physical injuries from the accident. Your lawyer will probably need to send a preservation of evidence letter to Uber and the Uber driver so that they save all data from your ride.
If another driver caused the accident while you were an Uber passenger, you could still seek compensation — but you’ll need to pursue it from the other driver first. If the other driver does not have enough insurance to cover your damages, you might seek compensation from Uber’s $1 million uninsured/underinsured policy.
What to Do if an Uber Driver Hit Your Vehicle
If an Uber driver caused your accident when you were driving your vehicle, the above details generally still apply, but you will need to fight harder to prove that the Uber driver was at fault. Also, if the Uber driver was using their car for personal reasons (and was not “on the clock”), you’ll need to pursue a claim through the Uber driver’s insurance.
As a victim of the accident, the burden is on you to prove that the Uber driver:
- Engaged in negligent behavior
- Caused your accident because of their negligence
- Directly caused your damages because of the accident
Keep in mind that all insurance companies look for ways to reduce what they have to pay on injury claims. Insurance companies for huge companies like Uber will be all-the-more aggressive at protecting their bottom line.
The insurer might use tactics to reduce their liability, so you’ll want to protect yourself through the help of an experienced lawyer. Your lawyer can communicate with the insurance company on your behalf, help you build a strong claim to show what happened, and work to negotiate a fair settlement if the insurance company tries to extend a lowball offer.
Talk to a Ridesharing Accident Lawyer for Free Today
While you might not be able to sue Uber directly for an accident, you have legal options. Our Dallas car accident lawyers can match you with the best ridesharing attorney for your needs, and there is no risk to you. We do not charge a fee unless we win your case.
Call us at (214) 305-8277 or contact us online to get started with a FREE, no-obligation consultation today.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Should You Collect Any Evidence At The Scene Of A Car Accident In Texas?
- What Percentage Do Accident Lawyers Take?
- How Long Do You Have After A Car Accident To File A Lawsuit In Texas?
- How Are Pedestrians Compensated for Injuries or Wrongful Death in Texas?
- What Do I Do if I Get Hit by an Uninsured Driver?