How Long Do You Have to Report a Car Accident to Your Insurance in Texas?
The latest data available from the Texas Department of Transportation, accumulated from records in 2018, shows that a person is injured in a car crash in Texas roughly once every two minutes. With 24 hours in every day, that is a daily total of over 720 injuries! In the immediate wake of a car crash, even one that does not involve injuries, it is crucial to report the event to your insurance company. Most insurers have deadlines for proper car accident reporting, usually within 30 days of the incident. However, each policy is unique and different insurers may have different reporting requirements. The best option is to report the incident as quickly as possible after consulting with skilled Texas car accident attorneys.
Pintas & Mullins has a long track record of helping injured people preserve their right to pursue compensation after their car wreck. Some of our previous clients have experienced life-altering injuries like Traumatic Brain Injuries (TBIs), spinal column injuries, lost limbs, disfigurement, paralysis, burns, and other significant harms in a variety of situations like the following.
- Truck/tractor-trailer accidents
- Motorcycle wrecks
- Rear-end accidents
- Crashes with Uber or Lyft drivers
- Wrecks with government-operated vehicles
Let us know about the details of your claim today so that we can help you get your life back on track with the best possible compensation package.
The Importance of Speed in My Case
In line with the old adage “time is of the essence,” working quickly is a crucial element of any personal injury claim in Texas. Though insurance companies typically require you to report an incident within 30 days, there are other requirements that must be met. This is especially true if you are planning on filing a lawsuit for compensation against the opposing driver or their insurance.
The Statute of Limitations
The term “statute of limitations” refers to a law that sets a deadline for the filing of a lawsuit or claim. In Texas, personal injury claims like car accidents have a two-year statute of limitations. This is much sooner than some other states, some of which allow personal injury claims to be filed up to four or even five years after the event. Two years may sound like a long time, but it is easy to get mired in the medical recovery process, adjusting to changing family schedules, and other complications that arise after a car crash. However, waiting longer than the two-year limitations period may mean that you lose the right to pursue any compensation from the at-fault driver.
Time’s Effect on Evidence
Another important reason to act quickly in your case is to preserve available evidence that can help strengthen your claim. In order to recover compensation, you must show evidence of the other driver’s fault, including some of the following items.
- The police crash report
- Photos of the scene and any damage
- Eyewitness testimony
- Expert witness testimony (such as accident reconstructionists)
- Medical records
- Accident footage from traffic or surveillance cameras
These elements can be lost due to becoming misplaced, witness’ memories fading, video recordings being taped over, and more. The more time passes before this evidence is collected, the weaker your case will get.
An experienced attorney like the car accident lawyers at Pintas & Mullins will work diligently to collect and preserve all evidence in your case, giving you a stronger base from which to argue for compensation. After seeking medical care, your first call after a serious car accident should be to set up an appointment with a local car accident law firm.
Getting an Attorney on My Claim Today
If you have been injured in a serious car accident, you and your family deserve compensation fro the at-fault driver. Even if no other car was involved in your wreck, you may have a case for a product liability claim if an equipment malfunction led to the crash that injured you. Damages like your medical expenses, car repair or replacement costs, necessary renovations to your house (such as wheelchair ramps), lost wages, and even non-economic harms like your pain or mental suffering are all included in the valuation of your claim.
To get the most compensation possible, it is vital to get an attorney’s help as soon as possible. At Pintas & Mullins, our car accident lawyers offer a 100% FREE consultation to learn more about how we can help you win your claim. If you decide to bring us on as your attorneys, we do not collect a fee unless and until we get you and your family the compensation that justice demands.
Schedule your FREE consultation today by filling out the form on our contact page or by calling us at 214-305-8277.
Frequently Asked Questions
- How Long Do You Have After A Car Accident To File A Lawsuit In Texas?
- Who Is Legally Responsible If You’re Injured In A Dallas Bus Accident?
- How Do You Know If You Need To Hire A Dallas Car Accident Lawyer?
- What Can You Recover For A Wrongful Death From A Truck Accident In Texas?
- What If The Other Driver In A Texas Car Accident Is Uninsured?